top of page
Search
  • arlieandruth

Money Usage

The pastor spoke about the use of money from Matthew 6:19-24. So I reflected on my life and finances. To mull over life is a perk of being older! Here are a few thoughts.


I have never been too generous. There have been times in life when I have been generous. I do not claim to have given a remarkable amount in those cases, but I gave more than I was expected to give. What is remarkable is that I have never found myself shorted by giving more.


My own efforts to create wealth have usually failed. I can think of several ventures in which the specific goal was to increase wealth, but they cost me instead. There are acquaintances who seem to be related to King Midas, but, if I’m related at all, it is very distant. I don’t begrudge those who are able to increase wealth. One wealthy person said he didn’t actually love money, he just really enjoyed the process of making it (He didn't mention the trouble of keeping it.).


Money has usually not meant much to me. Sometimes I buy the least expensive, but it is usually not the major consideration. I would say it has worked well to have a loose attachment to money. It certainly has made some decisions easier, given me some freedom, encouraged me to focus on what service I might provide, and helped me to not look over my shoulder.


Sometimes my holdings have increased even in dramatic ways. But these increases have come without my direct manipulation and expectation. They have come in such a way that I can only say “Thank You” to God. They have kept the wolf from the door and have even provided some luxuries.


When the time comes to leave, I will gladly bid adieu to all of it. I have a dwelling place waiting for me that is out of this world! (John 14:1-3)

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why I Ride

I took a fifty-seven mile ride this morning. It was the loop out to Whetstone, then over to Tombstone, just missing the Border Patrol checkpoint, and home on the Charleston Road. On the last section

The Curiosity of Death

It is curious to observe that people die so easily. You might think me morose and foreboding--usually I am occupied with life. But when there is an experience common to man, we could at least give i

How to Win

It suddenly became clear to me that being successful in an election is not 'rocket science.' There can be an established system that can operate with integrity as long as all the people participating

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page